Ponyo

Image result for ponyo

Movie: Ponyo
Release year: 2008

Director: Hayao Miyazaki
Casts: Tomoko Yamaguchi, Kazushige Nagashima, Yuki Amami, George Tokoro, Yuria Nara, Hiroki Doi, Rumi Hiiragi

Genre: Animation, Adventure, Comedy, Family, Fantasy

Storyline
Sosuke lives on an oceanside cliff with his mother, Lisa. During one of his visit to the beach, he found a goldfish stuck in a jar and he decide to rescue her and name her Ponyo. Little did he know that she is more than just a goldfish. Being the daughter of a powerful wizard and sea goddess, Ponyo decides to transform herself into a human after she fell in love with Sosuke. However, due to the magic that Ponyo uses, it created a imbalance in the world. It is then up to her and Sosuke to save the world and to fulfill her desire to be human where she gave up her powers in return.

My Thoughts
Although the movie was released about 9 years ago, and all I know was the theme song. I haven watch this movie till recently and I am sure there’s people out there like me. And since I will be visiting Japan and it’s Ghibili Museum, I decided to watch at least one movie from Ghibili Studio.

I love Ponyo when she’s still a goldfish. She’s cute during that form, but however when she was trying to transform herself, I didn’t like how she look. It doesn’t look like a human nor a fish, it’s some kind of weird creature to me. However, during her final human form, I find it likeable.

It’s a nice movie. More of a fantasy unrealistic animation with a nice written story plot. It is always not about powers to dominate the world. There’s always something much more worth to have than powers itself, and that’s what the movie taught me.

Will I recommend this movie? Yes, especially to Japanese fanatics. Anime or not, I’m sure they’ll enjoy this movie as much as I did.

My ratings: 4/5

Leave a Reply

