Hacksaw Ridge

Image result for hacksaw ridge

Movie: Hacksaw Ridge
Release Year: 2016

Director: Mel Gibson
Casts: Andrew Garfield, Hugo Weaving

Genre: Biography, History, War

Storyline
Based on a true story, Desmond Doss, a conscientious objector battled at Okinawa without any firearms on/with him. He signed up to serve in the army as a Medic, to save lives. With his upbringing of never to resort to violence and a strong believer and faith in his religion, Doss entered the battle field armed with only medical supplies.

My Thoughts
I am one who doesn’t watch war, documentary or biography kind of movies. But with many good reviews and after watching the trailer, I decided to give it a go. I would say, it is the best war movie I’ve ever watched.

I would say Andrew Garfield portrayed the character perfectly. The faith he showed and the character’s determination to stand by what he believe. 

However, the movie showed some gory scene which made me cringe. Although I know what I am in for when I decided to watch this movie, but I am not a fan for gore. So yes, those parts in the movie will make me cringe. But I would say they made it so real which I am quite amazed.

The movie inspired me and questioned my faith. I wished I was like Desmond Doss, stand up to what I believe in even though people may call me names.

Will I recommend this movie? If you need inspiration, yes you should watch this. This movie about a war hero inspired me so much that I wished I was as brave as him.

My ratings: 4.5/5

 

Leave a Reply

